Poltics and Government

Similar like other Indian states, Kerala’s functioning is executed through a parliamentary system of representative democracy, in which universal suffrage is granted to all. The 3 brances of government include legislature, the executive, and the judiciary. The judiciary is comprised of the Kerala High Court. The assemblyt meetings are presided over by the speaker. The executive brance is comprised of the Governor of kerala, head of state (appointed by president), and Chief Minister of Kerala (head of state government of Kerala). There is also a council of Ministers, which belong to the Legislature. There are 2 political alliances, which include the United Democratic Front, and the Left Democratice front. The LDF is the controlling party at present. Keralites are seen as well versed and aware of the political process, with a result of high voter turnout at elections.

The current Council of Ministers has 19 members including the Chief Minister. To aid in the administrative functioning of the Government a number or departments and institutions have been instituted. The departments look into various area of utmost importance to the survival and prosperity of the citizens. The institutions owned by the government range from Universities to Private Sector Undertakings. The departments are again classified into Secretariat Departments and Field Departments. Allied bodies such as Gram Panchayats and Municipal Corporations help in the governance of the local areas.